Getting ready for et4online – presentation, track, vendors, Vegas

On Monday I head off to the Sloan Consortium et4online conference. I’m excited about this conference for many reasons. As a presenter, I’m excited by the chance to talk about what we’re doing at UW Oshkosh and to hear what others think. As a track chair, I’m enthused by what the sessions in my track on open and accessible learning will be talking about, grateful for the work of the reviewers, and hoping that the thought put into the balance of the track comes together. As an attendee, I’m getting my head around the scale of the conference, the tough choices of what session to go to, and Vegas.

mangle-1.php

Presenting

I uploaded a wordier version of my presentation to the conference site (and below) so that it makes sense on it’s own and I’m finishing a more interactive version for the session.

Chairing

I’m really excited about this. Working from shaping the call for presentations, through submissions, reviewers comments and creating balanced track this has been lots of fun so far. The conversation developed to be a little more MOOC than OER but there are some interesting questions being addressed and perspectives offered. I’m somewhat disheartened that I’m presenting during one of the sessions on accessible open content, but it was inevitable that I’d miss at least one session while I was presenting!

All the sessions look good and there’s a fantastic best in track session by Catheryn Cheal “MOOCs: Monetization Models and Pedagogy as Part of a State University’s Strategic Vision” but I’ll admit that personally I’m particularly looking forward to Jennifer Berdan’s  “Open Courseware as a Living System: An Organizational Analysis” . I’ve always been interested in and worked on models of organizational and technical interaction (see my:  “A Bug’s Life?: How Metaphors from Ecology Can Articulate the Messy Details of Repository Interactions” ) and this session about OCW promises to be interesting.

Attending

The scale is something else. I’m excited to be part of this event but will also admit some aspects of it are slight cultural shifts. Things like the number of invitations from vendors to come and see their exhibit, the number of exhibits, and the sponsorship which enables this to happen at this scale is a little bit of a cultural adjustment. Then there’s the whole Vegas thing… never been before and I’m doing the whole crazy travel schedule (arriving at night and leaving on a red eye). Yikes!

Leave a Reply

